AKA Wardogs

General Category => General Discussion => Topic started by: AKA_Goshawk on April 07, 2018, 08:42:20 am

Title: Forum update seems to have messed up some stuff.
Post by: AKA_Goshawk on April 07, 2018, 08:42:20 am
Gentlemen:

Ram keeps the forum up to date for us, a service he does a terrific job with.
A recent update appears to have had a strange impact on how the forum pages display.
Ram is working on the problem and getting it back to service as he has time to devote to it.

We should all realize the efforts Ram puts into setting this forum up, as well as keeping the
forum up and running smoothly for the squad.

We appreciate you, Ram!

Gos
Title: Re: Forum update seems to have messed up some stuff.
Post by: AKA_Ramstein on April 07, 2018, 09:01:33 am
sorry guys,,, I had a problem with updates...
I am going to have to repair it, and cannot move it up to the latest updates.

it is on 13, should be 15.
I have to get the avatars, icons working again
Title: Re: Forum update seems to have messed up some stuff.
Post by: AKA_Dash on April 07, 2018, 09:11:54 am
Much appreciated Ram! These forums are absolutely essential. Your efforts don't go un-noticed!
Title: Re: Forum update seems to have messed up some stuff.
Post by: AKA_Ramstein on April 07, 2018, 09:20:12 am
I think I found the issues..

GoDaddy messed up the ability to update SMF forums :
so, I didn't know, and went to run updates, and made a mess..
I have to leave it on an older update version...
========

https://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=555663.msg3938639#msg3938639

==========

Been working on this over three hours, GoDaddy just keeps getting worse.  No way to upgrade to 2.0.14 on your server.  The index errors you're seeing are because upgrade.php is unable to load the language file Install.english.php.  Tried various ways to link directly, no go.  Your file permissions are set at 705/604, changed most of them to 755/644, no go.  Did a clean install in another directory, linked to your database, no go.  In the end, I did a clean 1.1.21 install on my host, linked to your database, ran the upgrade, it worked.  I've uploaded the 2.0.14 upgrade package to your forum, can't run it because GoDaddy's FTP server is blocking some /Sources files (this is a known problem).  You'll have to upload the files using GoDaddy's file manager.  May as well upload the entire upgrade package, less the upgrade scripts.  The database has been upgraded to 2.0.14, I fixed Settings.php and Settings_bak.php, ran repair_settings.php.  You should be good to go once you've uploaded the files.  Do not run upgrade.php, it's already done.

Let me know when you get it done.

*Sir Osis needs another beer.
======
Title: Re: Forum update seems to have messed up some stuff.
Post by: AKA_Taipan on April 07, 2018, 09:27:02 am
Terrific job Ram!
Thanks for all your efforts!

Cheers

Tai
Title: Re: Forum update seems to have messed up some stuff.
Post by: AKA_Ramstein on April 07, 2018, 09:39:32 am
for now I am going to leave the old version in, I don't want to dig a hole I can't get out of !!!
Title: Re: Forum update seems to have messed up some stuff.
Post by: AKA_Goshawk on April 07, 2018, 03:37:37 pm
Don't blame you, Ram. Everything looks like it's running again.
Thanks for the efforts.

Gos
Title: Re: Forum update seems to have messed up some stuff.
Post by: AKA_TG on April 19, 2018, 03:31:53 pm
WTG Ram!

Thanks for your efforts!