AKA Wardogs

Technical Help => Technical Help => Topic started by: AKA_TG on November 30, 2018, 10:28:49 am

Title: image mechanical HD to SSD
Post by: AKA_TG on November 30, 2018, 10:28:49 am
My main drive is mechanical and
win7 professional N


I would very much like to image this drive to a SSD but imagine it is not really possible today.

Anyway, we used to do this where i worked using linux command line (to do the actual imaging)  but that was years ago and i'm sure this trick cannot be done anymore.

Is there a way to transfer an entire drive image to a solid state drive?
Title: Re: image mechanical HD to SSD
Post by: AKA_Goshawk on November 30, 2018, 02:45:12 pm
There is likely software that will do this for you, but that's the only way I can thin k of in this day and age.
When the systems were run on DOS, it was possible to "xcopy *.* for all files and folders, but that is not a part of history.

If you're thinking of moving Windows from your IDE drive to a SSD drive, I'd hold off with that and just move all your games to the SSD instead. That should be nothing more than dragging and dropping the folders onto the SSD drive. Don't delete the original folders until you test the game from the SSD and it works OK.

Hope this is what you were looking for.

Gos
Title: Re: image mechanical HD to SSD
Post by: AKA_Scorp on November 30, 2018, 03:21:32 pm
I used cloning software from one of the HD manufacturers when I installed an SSD.  Only one HD's/SSD's has to be from the manufacturer.  To be effective you need your OS and games on the SSD, I moved other programs and documents/photos etc to the HD after I had reformatted it.

Title: Re: image mechanical HD to SSD
Post by: AKA_SilverDevil on December 01, 2018, 05:44:24 am
All you need is Acronis True Image. You make a bootable USB with the software. Then get a USB hard drive cradle. https://www.amazon.com/Thermaltake-Hot-Swap-External-Docking-Compatible/dp/B01J4XNLN6?th=1 (https://www.amazon.com/Thermaltake-Hot-Swap-External-Docking-Compatible/dp/B01J4XNLN6?th=1) Put the new (destination) drive in the cradle and leave the original (source) drive in computer. Boot to the USB flash drive and you will see a selection to copy. The turn off computer swap drives and boot. The PC will never know the difference. Only thing is make sure the source drive does not have more used space than the destination has available. https://www.acronis.com/en-us/articles/cloning-software/ (https://www.acronis.com/en-us/articles/cloning-software/) Acronis will also do backups. Get a big external drive and you will be set. I have a 1 TB SSD I will cloning to a 2 TB SSD.
Title: Re: image mechanical HD to SSD
Post by: AKA_Ramstein on December 01, 2018, 09:52:56 am
I know copying is tempting, but I would just do a new install. Just my 2 cents.  ;)

btw, acronis has a big sale, it is still ongoing today.  Newegg $60.00
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832200141&Description=acronis&cm_re=acronis-_-32-200-141-_-Product

I think my old copy is either old version, or trial. I don't do that anymore though, just do new installs.

I have a 4TB USB backup:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822178864
Seagate Backup Plus 4TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive - STDR4000901 (Blue)
was $100.00
Title: Re: image mechanical HD to SSD
Post by: AKA_SilverDevil on December 01, 2018, 11:57:59 am
good point ram. @AKA_TG no need to get the newest version. i have 2016 i think. no issues. and 2016 is cheaper if you search.