AKA Wardogs

Technical Help => Technical Help => Topic started by: AKA_FiveIron on February 28, 2015, 08:59:53 am

Title: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: AKA_FiveIron on February 28, 2015, 08:59:53 am
My X-52 Pro has me at my wits end... I thought I had the problem fixed but again last night I was combat ineffective due to joystick problems.

I had originally thought it was a Saitek & TeamSpeak conflict problem as described here:
http://forum.teamspeak.com/showthread.php/89956-Saitek-x52-Pro-Profiler-Conflict

Basically when I used a button on MY X-52 Pro as a PTT (Push To Talk), at some point my input devices (joystick/mouse/keyboard) would freeze and crash and I would have to do a hard reboot of the computer. The teamspeak people are saying that with the latest releases they have dropped support for Direct Input which the Saitek X-52 Pro uses.

Now after I only use keyboard to PTT (teamspeak recommendation) my X-52 Pro seems to randomly "unplug" itself. There also seems to be some kind of electrical spike associated with the joystick malfunctioning, seems like a momentary short circuit.

Has anyone had a conflict problem with Saitek Joysticks and TeamSpeak or a joystick short circuit problem?



Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: AKA_Ramstein on February 28, 2015, 09:36:20 am
make sure in options, hotkeys, lower right have the option set to keyboard and mouse only. Also, kame absolutely you have the proper latest drivers, for example, I use drivers for windows 8.1, and are pretty new. I have the X52 Pro.
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: AKA_Taipan on February 28, 2015, 01:17:27 pm
I had a problem when I unplugged my X65F when TS was running.
It would lock up my computer, requiring a hard shut down.
I would recommend using a key board key for your push to talk and make sure that your stick is not getting unplugged when your on TS.
That was the action I took and I have not had a problem since.  Touch wood!

Cheers

Tai
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: HellCat (Sully) on March 01, 2015, 07:54:28 am
I had a problem when I unplugged my X65F when TS was running.
It would lock up my computer, requiring a hard shut down.

This happened to me too with my X52 Pro/MFFB hybrid ...... Are you using the saitek software? ..I don't use the software at all and map everything in game ....use the pinky trigger on the stick for TS.....when I tried to use other buttons on the stick it gave me weird results....
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: AKA_FiveIron on March 01, 2015, 10:46:17 am
The random nature of the problem is what is most frustrating. I find it hard to duplicate but I have to think it is some kind of short... due to a problem with or near the pinkie switch. After 10 years with this thing it is time for a new stick.


What joysticks are you guys using?
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: HellCat (Sully) on March 01, 2015, 11:21:03 am
mine is a X52 Pro Force feedback 2 hybrid

(http://i677.photobucket.com/albums/vv135/Sully_pa/DSCN1077.jpg)
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: HellCat (Sully) on March 02, 2015, 05:04:35 am
Hey FiveIron in the interim you can pick up a Logitech 3d Pro on ebay for under $20 bucks and use it with your X52 Pro throttle till you decide what to do ....It's a great stick for the money ...one less hat ....

(http://www.game4u.com/22839-product_main/buy-logitech-extreme-3d-pro-joystick.jpg)
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: AKA_FiveIron on March 03, 2015, 12:54:12 am
Wow cool hybrid! How did you do that...?
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: AKA_Goshawk on March 03, 2015, 12:12:10 pm
CH controllers here. Love them, have used them for years and years and they have never failed to perform.

Gos
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: HellCat (Sully) on March 03, 2015, 01:01:30 pm
Five  ....you have to take the X52 stick apart and remove the main board and connector (Plug in from throttle)

(http://i677.photobucket.com/albums/vv135/Sully_pa/DSCN3035copy.jpg)

Then you have to remove the stick from the FFB2 ...Shows location of X52 board too

(http://i677.photobucket.com/albums/vv135/Sully_pa/msffb2copy.jpg)

Now you just have to figure the best way to mount the X52 stick to the FFB2 stick base (I drilled out the center to match the X52 shaft slid it in and glued and taped it) and thread the wiring down through...you need to drill a hole in the FFB2 base to mount the plug to as well ...then hot glue it all in place.

(http://i677.photobucket.com/albums/vv135/Sully_pa/DSCN1087copy.jpg)
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: AKA_FiveIron on March 04, 2015, 05:14:31 am
Are you mounting the board from the Saitek stick in the base of the Microsoft Stick then running 2 USB to your computer?
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: HellCat (Sully) on March 04, 2015, 03:43:17 pm
Exactly!
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: AKA_Jericho on March 24, 2015, 05:09:35 am
iam using the x 52 button next to the blue thumb toggle switch never had an issue with it .

S! J
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: AKA_Ramstein on April 09, 2015, 11:27:02 pm
My Saitek X52 pro and pedals are very worn, and am not sure how long I can milk them for more life..

Il-2 1946 they seem to be ok, but sims like DCS demand more of them... I look for deals, but are not cheap, and even a set that is used but decent isn't cheap...

... see what happens
S!  :o
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: AKA_Ramstein on July 24, 2015, 04:39:06 pm
I changed out my Saitek pedals for CH, hopefully the bad signals and sloppiness is gone form my system...
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: AKA_Goshawk on July 26, 2015, 10:46:45 am
The random nature of the problem is what is most frustrating. I find it hard to duplicate but I have to think it is some kind of short... due to a problem with or near the pinkie switch. After 10 years with this thing it is time for a new stick.


What joysticks are you guys using?

I am so glad you finally got around to asking this question. I was reading all the replies to your original post and at the beginning of each reply I was hoping someone would say something like "get different controllers", but no luck. You finally hit on the idea yourself and I applaud you for that.
Personally, I strongly recommend the CH sticks. I've been using the same controllers for several years without fail. They might not be as fancy as some others (like Saitek) but fancy does not always equate with quality, as you've found out. Others (like Thrustmaster) are expensive and after a period require changing or adjusting potentiometers, which can be a pain in the ass. Others, like the latest Saitek are pretty and those who forked over the big bucks for them, swear by them. If I had shelled out a load of cash, I'd probably support my decision as well.
The CH sticks can be directly programmed into games using the in-game controls screen, or there is a solid software program called CH Control Manager that links all three sticks into one game-identifiable controller. There are some definite advantages to this, especially in games like DCS. I typically have an extra set of controllers to lend out to those wanting to try something else, but the set I had I gave to my brother, otherwise I'd ship them to you to try out.
Check them out and if you buy them and decide you don't like them, let me know and I'll make you a very fair offer to take them off your hands. I doubt that will be necessary though.

Gos
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: AKA_MattE on July 28, 2015, 08:52:58 pm
I use a Thrustmaster Warthog and I really like it; Incredibly versatile.  I have never had to change a potentiometer  but I have had to switch out a button, not a big deal but it took a couple of weeks for the part.  The main reason I got the warthog is the resistance from the stick, I cant deal with low resistance joysticks.

MattE
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: AKA_Scorp on July 29, 2015, 10:28:53 am
Have you tried running the joystick from a powered USB hub?  Maybe the problem is with the MB not the joystick.
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: AKA_FiveIron on July 29, 2015, 08:20:19 pm
My saitek X52 pro lasted about 8 years so I went with another saitek, an X-55.
Title: Re: X-52 Pro is driving me nuts!!!
Post by: AKA_Ramstein on August 07, 2015, 03:22:32 am
They just wear,, like anything else, but Saitek isn't keeping up with drivers and Microsoft, plus they don't answer questions. They used to send repair parts free no hassle, Now they make a hassle and lose your contact.