Author Topic: Firewalls  (Read 646 times)

Offline AKA_BUCKY

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 288
    • View Profile
Firewalls
« on: November 06, 2016, 01:06:24 pm »
I just got cable internet.  Do I need both the new router firewall activated and my MacAfee firewall?  Are they in compatible or can they cause conflicts?

Offline AKA_Goshawk

  • Executive Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1109
  • "Death from above"
    • View Profile
    • Goshawk's Nest
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2016, 02:58:02 pm »
you may not need McAfee, but I suppose too much can't hurt. Be sure to open the ports on your firewall if you cannot connect to games.


"Death from above"

Offline AKA_BUCKY

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 288
    • View Profile
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2016, 03:22:07 pm »
Thanks Gos.  I can connect to games but sometimes TS starts to modulate and I warped according to Hang in Cliffs today.  I seem to be getting good bandwidth so I will try turning off the McAFee firewall and see if goes away.... 

Offline AKA_BUCKY

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 288
    • View Profile
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2016, 03:23:23 pm »
I noticed my router has ping blocking enabled.  Is that a problem?

Offline AKA_Scorp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2016, 09:36:39 am »
Hi Bucky,

I rely on my router Firewall with firewalls on my computer turned off.  I have ping blocking turned off.

AKA_Scorp

Offline AKA_BUCKY

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 288
    • View Profile
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2016, 05:24:17 pm »
Thanks Scorp. I'll try it...