Author Topic: Falcon BMS  (Read 907 times)

Offline AKA_Dash

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Falcon BMS
« on: March 21, 2018, 05:32:40 pm »
For those of you that don't know Falcon BMS is a free add on for Falcon 4.0. Its on par with DCS in terms of clickable cockpits, avionics systems, MDF management, engine management and other vital systems management. From the words of actual F-16 pilots themselves, "If you want to know what its like to fly an F-16, fly Falcon BMS". Many have said its an effective F-16 training simulator.

Here are some gameplay links:

Falcon BMS Trailer
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QcMOOOulhME

Some awesome role-playing gameplay:

TwoFace and Lorik, early Strike Mission in Strong DPRK - Falcon 4 BMS
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vRTHFpwXCAI

FALCON BMS: TARGET: NORTH KOREAN NEWS NETWORK
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3smXL1kKm3U&t=8s

Falcon BMS Website
http://www.benchmarksims.org/forum/content.php

This is by far the best bang for your buck you can get for a flight simulator that is on par with DCS. Mind you the landscape is more like a texture wrap similar to 1946, but at the end of the day, landscaping is just a novelty. Were here to fly, not see how pretty the tree's and grass look. If your able to gawk at how nice the landscaping looks, your not moving fast enough =]

Falcon Collection - $9.99
https://www.gog.com/game/falcon_collection

Thoughts?
« Last Edit: March 21, 2018, 08:39:30 pm by AKA_Dash »
"The difference between being a hero, and being stupid... is timing". -Unknown Vietnam Veteran


Offline AKA_Goshawk

  • Executive Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
  • "Death from above"
    • View Profile
    • Goshawk's Nest
Re: Falcon BMS
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2018, 08:31:55 pm »
Looks very cool. Many fond memories in Falcon4.0.
I installed from my original disk and tried to start, but got the following message:

sdierr_object not found.

Could not start the game and had to reboot each time I tried.
Any ideas?

Gos


"Death from above"

Offline AKA_Dash

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Re: Falcon BMS
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2018, 08:43:57 pm »
Is it possible your disk itself is in bad shape maybe causing a misread?

I know not many people even have the disc's anymore. It wouldn't surprise me if the disc used some sort of different coding or reading method even if it is just the slightest difference that is causing some sort of confliction. This is just a thought, in no way can I prove this.

Its possible the software thats built in to the install for that CD is just flat out not compatible with Windows 10. The version on GoG and steam I know has been modified to account for that.

The campaign generator for this game is second to none. Not a single flight sim has ever come close to the campaign capabilities of this baby. The depth is incredible which is the reason why I wanted to mention it to the group in the first place. It has all the COOP capabilities that 1946 has plus we could still do mission's the same way were competing against each other now.
"The difference between being a hero, and being stupid... is timing". -Unknown Vietnam Veteran


Offline AKA_Taipan

  • Commanding Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 748
  • AKA_Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: Falcon BMS
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2018, 04:27:40 am »
I posted on this a while ago.
There are some links and there is a trouble shooting section.
Well worth the effort if you enjoy immersive campaigns.

Cheers

Tai


Sink your teeth in...Let go only when dead.

Offline AKA_Wiley

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 284
  • AKA_Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: Falcon BMS
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2018, 01:54:59 pm »
 There was a handfull of us years ago the flew Falcon 4 and even managed to get did online campaign working well using Vietnam era flying F4s

Offline AKA_TG

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 199
    • View Profile
Re: Falcon BMS
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2018, 10:51:16 am »
 I have a falcon4 allied force CD
(battlefield operations series. Developed by Lead pursuit and graphsim entertainment.)
but can't remember if it is the exact one talked about here. It had auto updater on it if memory serves..

Offline AKA_Goshawk

  • Executive Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
  • "Death from above"
    • View Profile
    • Goshawk's Nest
Re: Falcon BMS
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2018, 11:04:05 am »
Got the BFS to run although Falcon 4.0 would not. No need to try and run Falcon4.0, just have it installed on your computer is sufficient in order for BFS to run.
Need to verify all my controllers are being recognized. I was unable to set my throttle in the game. Working on it.


"Death from above"

Offline AKA_Ramstein

  • "Sir! We're surrounded!" - "Excellent! We can shoot in any direction!"
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1670
    • View Profile
Re: Falcon BMS
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2018, 04:53:30 pm »
I have a falcon4 allied force CD
(battlefield operations series. Developed by Lead pursuit and graphsim entertainment.)
but can't remember if it is the exact one talked about here. It had auto updater on it if memory serves..

F4 Allied Force was later version that was released 10 years later as a standalone updated version and will in no way work with the BMS version updates....
it was sold while BMS was a community project that only works with F4 4.0

ASUS Z107 Pro Gaming
Intel i53570K 3.40 GHZ
G.Skill DDR4 ram 16 GB
Nvidia GTX1060 6GB Video Graphics
WD Black WD1002FAAEX 1TB
46" Samsung HDTV
Win10 pro x64
Silicon Power 240GB M55 M.2 2280 SSD
Saitek X52 Pro HOTAS, CH Pedals
CM HAF 922 pc case

Offline AKA_Goshawk

  • Executive Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
  • "Death from above"
    • View Profile
    • Goshawk's Nest
Re: Falcon BMS
« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2018, 06:20:46 pm »
Finally got the controllers set up only to get into the cockpit and immediately get into a high sped uncontrollable roll and dive, lawn-darting somewhere along the South Korean coast.

Graphics looked pretty nice tho as I was spiraling to earth.

Gos


"Death from above"

Offline AKA_Taipan

  • Commanding Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 748
  • AKA_Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: Falcon BMS
« Reply #9 on: March 24, 2018, 07:07:42 pm »
Check your axis assignment in the setup Gos.
I had a similar issue.

Cheers

Tai


Sink your teeth in...Let go only when dead.

Offline AKA_Clutter

  • Training Officer
  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 644
  • AKA_Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: Falcon BMS
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2018, 08:54:28 pm »
I will have to read this more later.  I had it installed prior to building the new system.  It is still amazing for what it is.  No VR :-(


I7 8700K @ 4.8 GHz, 32 GB G.Skill DDR4 3600 RAM, Samsung 1 TB M.2,  Samsun 500 SDD, GB, EVGA 11080 FTW, Acer 27" Predator XB1, CH HOTAS and Pedals, Track IR 5,  Oculus Rift, PointCTRL, MFG Rudder Pedals