Author Topic: inability to launch COD  (Read 621 times)

Offline AKA_Goshawk

  • Executive Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
  • "Death from above"
    • View Profile
    • Goshawk's Nest
inability to launch COD
« on: March 23, 2018, 09:03:06 am »
Duck and RedHerring reported inability to connect or start COD. I have the same problem.
Anyone else having a problem with this?
Anyone have insight as to why?
Gos


"Death from above"

Offline AKA_MattE

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1411
    • View Profile
Re: inability to launch COD
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2018, 09:29:25 am »
It is an issue with Steam and seems to be effecting other games as well.

https://theairtacticalassaultgroup.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28554

MattE

Certified DCS Aircraft

Offline AKA_Ramstein

  • "Sir! We're surrounded!" - "Excellent! We can shoot in any direction!"
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1623
    • View Profile
Re: inability to launch COD
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2018, 06:49:54 pm »
I flew COD a minute ago, was in server and all was good
FYI

I started Steam, it said I had to run the update, ran it, then launched it through steam, Library where it lists my games..

ASUS Z107 Pro Gaming
Intel i53570K 3.40 GHZ
G.Skill DDR4 ram 16 GB
Nvidia GTX1060 6GB Video Graphics
WD Black WD1002FAAEX 1TB
46" Samsung HDTV
Win10 pro x64
Silicon Power 240GB M55 M.2 2280 SSD
Saitek X52 Pro HOTAS, CH Pedals
CM HAF 922 pc case

Offline AKA_Goshawk

  • Executive Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
  • "Death from above"
    • View Profile
    • Goshawk's Nest
Re: inability to launch COD
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2018, 09:32:35 am »
It's now March 24. Day 3 of the COD failure to launch issue.

I restarted Steam and it informed it was doing an update, but COD was still unable to launch afterwards. A restart still was not successful in launching the game..
I wanted to try uninstalling COD to see if I could get a working download from Steam, but when I went into the settings in Windows to uninstall the game, it was not even shown on the list of installed applications. Nor is BOS.
I thought that pretty odd.
Is this the same for you guys?
Any ideas why the game now runs OK for others who previously had the same problem with it not launching?
Is it likely they are releasing the fix to small groups at a time?

Puzzling.

Gos
« Last Edit: March 24, 2018, 09:46:57 am by AKA_Goshawk »


"Death from above"

Offline AKA_Big10

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
Re: inability to launch COD
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2018, 02:32:22 pm »
I have no problem launching the game but it also comes after a reinstall of the game for unrelated issues.

Offline AKA_Blasto

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
Re: inability to launch COD
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2018, 10:54:44 am »
S!~
 
 Hey fellas. Yes- there was a jacked update to the Steam platform- which in turn caused numerous Steam based games to not run- or to crash. Specifically- Cliff of Dover : Blitz.
 Its appears Sat. 3/24/18 - Team Fusion found a fix- provided it to the Steam team- who then applied said fix and corrected the undisclosed problem. Ok. Fine. But wait!
 Many of us had no fix- the game still would not load. So- I went thru a number of troubleshooting ideas- wont waste your time- but lastly found this to work.

Steam / Library / Games / Cliffs of Dover: Blitz / Uninstall ( Don't worry- the game remains somewhere within Steam) / clear cache in Steam downloads / re-install game thru Steam/ ( your settings in game should be saved automatically) - cross fingers - run game.

Hope this helps - it did for me. Questions? PM me or find me online tonight or tomorrow and Ill try to help in any way I can.

Good Luck !

S!~ AKA_Blasto