Poll

Is it OK to reset the Campaign so that the Server can be upgraded?

Reset the Campaign
4 (66.7%)
Don't Care
1 (16.7%)
Do Not Reset the Campaign
1 (16.7%)

Total Members Voted: 6

Voting closed: September 15, 2018, 01:13:49 pm

Author Topic: Server Upgrade/Campaign Reset  (Read 408 times)

Offline AKA_Scorp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 565
    • View Profile
Server Upgrade/Campaign Reset
« on: September 13, 2018, 01:13:49 pm »
Hi Guys,

Coconut has come out with a major change to his software, he constantly seems to be tweaking things to fix problems and add features.

Unfortunately the new version is not compatible with our campaign so if I install it the Campaign will have to be reset.  As we are only one mission into the Campaign I don't think that is too bad but on the other hand I don't like resetting our Campaign every time Coconut changes something.  There are a number of new settings but maybe something more important is that he "Fixed bug with night time computation".

Here are the new settings:

Quote
    # Whether players can spend cash reserve to borrow planes they haven't reserved
    PlaneRentalAllowed: true
    # Cost factor for buying planes from the rear airfield
    RearAirfieldCostFactor: 0.125
    # Max amount of cash a player can hold
    MaxCash: 10000
    # Initial amount of cash for each player
    InitialCash: 5000
    # Max number of reserved planes of a type at an airfield
    MaxReservedPlanes: 2
    # Max total number of reserved Planes
    MaxTotalReservedPlanes: 6
    # Part of plane rental money returned
    MoneyBackFactor : 0.75
    # Control whether player-driven tank spawns should be included in battles
    EnablePlayerTanks: true
   

I would set it up to not allow AC rentals and to set the RearAirfieldCost Factor to zero so that AC at the rear bases are still free.

I like the limits on the number of reserved AC as this stops people from hogging all the good ones.

When I make this type of change it effects all the servers.

My intention would be to reset the campaign before tomorrow evening unless there is much opposition.


« Last Edit: September 13, 2018, 01:27:28 pm by AKA_Scorp »
AKA_Scorp

Offline AKA_Relent

  • Training Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1715
  • AKA_Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: Server Upgrade/Campaign Reset
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2018, 04:25:54 pm »
Looks good Scorp.  I voted to reset the campaign, as it's nice to get these new features in (and that bug fix), plus we only flew one official mission.

These max/limitations look good, I agree, as we don't want to have individuals unknowingly deplete an entire aircraft type from the supply base.  Not sure how that manifests itself when in the mission, however.  If MaxReservedPlanes is set to 2 (for a plane type), and a pilot has, for example, already ferried two P-40E's from the supply base to a forward base - what happens if he spawns at the supply base in a P-40E?  Would there be a message to that pilot that they already have 2 P-40E's at a forward base, and thus they wouldn't get any more once he landed at that same forward base?  Plus I assume the inventory at the supply base would still be subtracted by one P-40E.  You may not know the answers yet, just throwing out a scenario.

I would imagine for this scenario, the pilot should check their inventory first.. and if they realize they already have 2 P-40E's at one forward airbase, that they need to land at a different one (or back at the supply base!) or lose the aircraft.

Offline AKA_Taipan

  • Commanding Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 740
  • AKA_Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: Server Upgrade/Campaign Reset
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2018, 04:32:21 pm »
I'm ok with a rest.

Cheers

Tai


Sink your teeth in...Let go only when dead.

Offline AKA_Goshawk

  • Executive Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1136
  • "Death from above"
    • View Profile
    • Goshawk's Nest
Re: Server Upgrade/Campaign Reset
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2018, 05:05:29 pm »
Well, as much as I hate giving up my 5 kills in the first mission, it's better we get the server running optimally.
I'm OK with the reset.

Gos


"Death from above"

Offline AKA_Scorp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 565
    • View Profile
Re: Server Upgrade/Campaign Reset
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2018, 05:59:12 pm »
Well, as much as I hate giving up my 5 kills in the first mission, it's better we get the server running optimally.
I'm OK with the reset.

Gos

Gos, your 5 kills will still be there it's just that you won't have any of the AC you moved.
AKA_Scorp

Offline AKA_Goshawk

  • Executive Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1136
  • "Death from above"
    • View Profile
    • Goshawk's Nest
Re: Server Upgrade/Campaign Reset
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2018, 11:32:00 am »
OK then.
Thanks


"Death from above"

Offline AKA_Wayno

  • Operations Officer
  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 200
  • AKA Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: Server Upgrade/Campaign Reset
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2018, 12:22:01 pm »
I assume there will be no Bos tonight?

Offline AKA_Relent

  • Training Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1715
  • AKA_Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: Server Upgrade/Campaign Reset
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2018, 01:47:11 pm »
I assume there will be no Bos tonight?

Why would you think that, Wayno?  As far as I know, it’s on.  Also, just sent out the OpOrd - check your email.  I won’t be able to make tonight’s mission, so Tai will lead.

S! Rel

Offline AKA_TG

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
Re: Server Upgrade/Campaign Reset
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2018, 02:34:23 pm »
Reset good.

Especially, no more pitch dark missions in prime time, right?

Even if not. its Ok with me.


Offline AKA_Scorp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 565
    • View Profile
Re: Server Upgrade/Campaign Reset
« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2018, 02:36:42 pm »
Reset good.

Especially, no more pitch dark missions in prime time, right?

Even if not. its Ok with me.

That's what I am hoping for!
AKA_Scorp

Offline AKA_Scorp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 565
    • View Profile
Re: Server Upgrade/Campaign Reset
« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2018, 02:37:30 pm »
SERVER HAS BEEN UPGRADED AND THE CAMPAIGN RESET!!!
AKA_Scorp

Offline AKA_Taipan

  • Commanding Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 740
  • AKA_Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: Server Upgrade/Campaign Reset
« Reply #11 on: September 14, 2018, 03:17:49 pm »
Just got home!
I’ll scrap my plan and go with what you sent Rel.
Just going to get some scoff and the mess then eyeball the OpOrd.

Cheers

Tai


Sink your teeth in...Let go only when dead.