Author Topic: BOS Normal won't start!  (Read 723 times)

Offline AKA_Rage

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
BOS Normal won't start!
« on: September 18, 2018, 04:36:22 pm »
You click on AKA normal and it won't start program? Rage.

Offline AKA_Relent

  • Training Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1682
  • AKA_Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: BOS Normal won't start!
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2018, 10:25:44 am »
You mean in BOX when you go to multiplayer?  When you try to join the server?  Can you be more specific?  I can try to join thyou server later today after work.

Online AKA_Goshawk

  • Executive Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1109
  • "Death from above"
    • View Profile
    • Goshawk's Nest
Re: BOS Normal won't start!
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2018, 03:15:00 pm »
My email(s) explained it pretty well.
You can see both servers (Normal and Expert) in the server list but if/when you click on Normal and Join Server, it stays at the server list and does not attempt to download the mission. It does not go to the splash screen to download the mission. The server list continues to display.
If/when you select the Expert server and click Join Server , it goes to the splash screen and begins to download the mission as normal and the mission starts.

That's it in a nutshell.

I tried going onto the server to see if I could fix it, to no avail. I was uncertain what I should do there, as I indicated in my email with the image.

Thanks

Gos
« Last Edit: September 19, 2018, 03:21:59 pm by AKA_Goshawk »


"Death from above"

Offline AKA_Relent

  • Training Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1682
  • AKA_Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: BOS Normal won't start!
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2018, 05:21:25 pm »
Rgr that Gos, thanks.

I took a look at the AKA server and the command box from the server controller.  When I tried to connect to the Normal server (Expert is fine), as mentioned, from the BOX UI, it just said please wait for a second or two, then nothing... no downloading of files, etc.

While that happened, I saw the following error on the server controller command box:

2018-09-19 17:18:12.3171|ERROR|RConClient.Client|Failed to connect to game serve
r: No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it 12
7.0.0.1:8993

So it looks like there is a connection issue, maybe a port(s) need to be opened on the firewall Scorp/Gos?

S! Rel

Online AKA_Goshawk

  • Executive Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1109
  • "Death from above"
    • View Profile
    • Goshawk's Nest
Re: BOS Normal won't start!
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2018, 05:30:06 pm »
since the expert is available, wouldn't the Normal also be able to pass the firewall?
So, I checked the firewall settings on the server and found that all three servers for BOX are set to pass the firewall.

I've sent a screenshot of the firewall settings page to Rel and Scorp.
We'll work to get this resolved as soon as possible.


Gos
« Last Edit: September 19, 2018, 06:09:16 pm by AKA_Goshawk »


"Death from above"

Offline AKA_Relent

  • Training Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1682
  • AKA_Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: BOS Normal won't start!
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2018, 10:53:16 am »
Hey Gos - those firewall settings look OK to me, so it’s still a mystery.  Quick question - was Normal ever working ok (I mean accepting connections) after the SSD was put in and the files from the old drive copied over?  Or has this problem persisted from th beginning?  Just trying to isolate - I.e., what changed?

Thanks,
S! Rel

Online AKA_Goshawk

  • Executive Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1109
  • "Death from above"
    • View Profile
    • Goshawk's Nest
Re: BOS Normal won't start!
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2018, 10:57:11 am »
Don't know.
The SSD went in on Saturday PM/Sunday AM timeframe.
Hope this helps.

G


"Death from above"

Offline AKA_Scorp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
Re: BOS Normal won't start!
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2018, 04:08:24 pm »
Just got back from a few days away.

Went onto server, the DServer for the normal server was running but looked like it was not running a real mission.

Shutdown the Normal Dserver, checked the Task Manager and saw there was a "Ghost" version of Dserver still running, killed it.

From the website tried restarting the campaign or resetting the campaign, no luck.

Guessed there was something up with Coconuts campaign system and did a restart from the website. 

After the restart, reset the campaign.  Looks like it is starting will check it later.



AKA_Scorp

Offline AKA_Relent

  • Training Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1682
  • AKA_Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: BOS Normal won't start!
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2018, 04:46:00 pm »
Thanks Scorp - I was going to try doing some of what you listed, restarting the campaign, etc, but it wouldn’t have worked obviously so glad you were able to look a little deeper.

S! Rel

Online AKA_Goshawk

  • Executive Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1109
  • "Death from above"
    • View Profile
    • Goshawk's Nest
Re: BOS Normal won't start!
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2018, 07:11:04 pm »
Thanks, guys!


"Death from above"

Offline AKA_Greywolf

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
Re: BOS Normal won't start!
« Reply #10 on: October 18, 2018, 06:05:39 pm »
AKA BOS Normal server appears to be down again, last I saw the german side was kicking butt. Think they won the map and the server needs to be restarted again.
The three most common expressions (or famous last words) in aviation are: "Why is it doing that?" "Where are we?" and "Oh Shit!"


Offline AKA_Relent

  • Training Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1682
  • AKA_Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: BOS Normal won't start!
« Reply #11 on: October 18, 2018, 06:47:46 pm »
AKA BOS Normal server appears to be down again, last I saw the german side was kicking butt. Think they won the map and the server needs to be restarted again.

Already?  Well stop kicking butt!!!  :)

I'll look into it, see if I can restart it with a different map.

S! Rel

Offline AKA_Relent

  • Training Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1682
  • AKA_Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: BOS Normal won't start!
« Reply #12 on: October 19, 2018, 04:55:58 pm »
FYI I restarted the Normal campaign last night, using the Stalingrad summer map.  I joined it and flew for a little while, seems OK.

Offline AKA_Relent

  • Training Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1682
  • AKA_Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: BOS Normal won't start!
« Reply #13 on: October 20, 2018, 12:49:39 pm »
After the BOX master server came back up, I started the Expert and Normal servers. For some reason the Normal server wouldn't start.. had to reset the scheduler and then it came up, so both Expert and Normal are up now.

S! Rel

Offline AKA_Relent

  • Training Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1682
  • AKA_Wardogs
    • View Profile
Re: BOS Normal won't start!
« Reply #14 on: October 20, 2018, 05:13:56 pm »
BOX master server is down again, so I shut down the Expert/Normal servers for now.  I'll start them up once the master server is back online/stable.

S! Rel