Author Topic: Long pauses in multiplayer COD  (Read 275 times)

Offline AKA_TG

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 163
    • View Profile
Long pauses in multiplayer COD
« on: October 28, 2018, 06:53:04 am »
Ok, So if anyone has any ideas I'm all ears.


About every 2-5  mins or so a long pause sets in like a screen freeze, followed by the update of where my plane has moved to.
Pause time varies from a few secs to over 30. It always recovers.

I'm thinking "format C:\ :might do the trick?

Offline AKA_Goshawk

  • Executive Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1102
  • "Death from above"
    • View Profile
    • Goshawk's Nest
Re: Long pauses in multiplayer COD
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2018, 09:12:22 am »
Before doing that, what kind of video card are you using and how much RAM does your system have?
Are you running any other applications in the background, like any special malware or virus detectors?
Are you running through a router and who else is on a computer going through the same router in your home?


Thanks, TG.


"Death from above"

Offline AKA_TG

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 163
    • View Profile
Re: Long pauses in multiplayer COD
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2018, 04:37:06 pm »
only the wife on the PC downstairs. She surfs gossip feeds and such, not really bandwidth hogging.  How do I catch whats going on in task mgr?
My guess (all i have at the moment) is somehow related to TrackIR4 ver 2.70.0.0
not playing nice with Nvidia ver 23.21.13.8813,  But alas its a long shot of a guess ;)

TrackIR software ver 5.4.2.27545

NVIDIA control panel  ver 8.1.940.0


GTX 1050 Ti driver version  388.13
4GByte card

There must be error logs being updated somewhere in windows I wonder how to find them  if they exist.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2018, 04:44:56 pm by AKA_TG »

Offline AKA_Goshawk

  • Executive Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1102
  • "Death from above"
    • View Profile
    • Goshawk's Nest
Re: Long pauses in multiplayer COD
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2018, 08:27:53 pm »
not likely due to the Track IR in my opinion. I have a spare one around here that I can send to you if you want to try it out. Let me know.
What kind of ISP service do you have?
If it's dish or DSL that could surely be the issue.

Gos


"Death from above"

Offline AKA_TG

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 163
    • View Profile
Re: Long pauses in multiplayer COD
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2018, 08:53:55 am »
Thanks for helping Gos !

Yeah I realize now this is COD related i nthat 1946 and BOS does nothing even remotely like this.

Thus, the devil is in the details of COD and how it functions.

One thing I noticed is that NVIDIA container and other Nvidia's uses port 443, same as microsoft antimalware service executable.
Thing is other apps use 443 as well so its probably not a lead.

I just updated NVIDIA to latest greatest
Also did Track IR4. Tried in COD and it was still there so far no luck yet.

Symptom wise, its as if either game or NVIDIA pauses updating the display while the actual sim runs underneath without pause.

I need my grasshopper grandpa here to help me think about this.




« Last Edit: October 30, 2018, 08:57:39 am by AKA_TG »

Offline AKA_TG

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 163
    • View Profile
Re: Long pauses in multiplayer COD
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2018, 12:26:03 pm »
Hmm, Grasshopper Grandpa say "look in game for a clue"

Gonna try selecting Cable.DSL instead of LAN in the network settings of COD

Report back in a bit..

Offline AKA_Greywolf

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 294
    • View Profile
Re: Long pauses in multiplayer COD
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2018, 09:44:33 am »
 TG, just a quick FYI for you and Gos. I broke down and reinstalled COD and Steam. Gonna need help with game settings and must haves for controlling Steam updates.

First time a Steam update loses my controller settings I will stick a knife in steams heart and kill it.
The three most common expressions (or famous last words) in aviation are: "Why is it doing that?" "Where are we?" and "Oh Shit!"


Offline AKA_Goshawk

  • Executive Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1102
  • "Death from above"
    • View Profile
    • Goshawk's Nest
Re: Long pauses in multiplayer COD
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2018, 11:04:54 am »
Hey, Grey. This is terrific news.
Please try to join us in our quests to rid the French airspace of the British riff-raff in the TWC Campaign server on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 1:00 Pacific, or to rid the British island of the German scum if we fly on the TWC Mission server. Having great fun with either one.

So far we have been joined by me, RedHerring, Skewer, TG, Wayno and an occasional other or two.

Hope to see you. I have had no problems with Steam interruptions or screwing with my controller settings.

Gos


"Death from above"

Offline AKA_TG

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 163
    • View Profile
Re: Long pauses in multiplayer COD
« Reply #8 on: November 02, 2018, 04:32:02 pm »
Greys got something going on there.

Yesterday his whole system (even windows desktop_)  started using his on board graphics card instead of the slot mounted one he been using for years.

If you get a chance Grey uncheck that sucker in steam settings "Enable steam cloud sync for apps that support it." )

right click steam in lower right tray, select settings and then cloud to get at this checkbox.

Offline AKA_Greywolf

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 294
    • View Profile
Re: Long pauses in multiplayer COD
« Reply #9 on: November 02, 2018, 05:01:35 pm »
Im telling you guys, Steam doesn't like my system. Rebooted my computer and Steam try's to automatically update itself before anything else loads on my system. This includes my anti-virus, and all my peripherals such as stick and rudder. Not cool!!!!!

Tells me that Steam doesnt like to play nice in the sandbox.
The three most common expressions (or famous last words) in aviation are: "Why is it doing that?" "Where are we?" and "Oh Shit!"


Offline AKA_Ramstein

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
    • View Profile

ASUS Z107 Pro Gaming
Intel i53570K 3.40 GHZ
G.Skill DDR4 ram 16 GB
Nvidia GTX1060 6GB Video Graphics
WD Black WD1002FAAEX 1TB
46" Samsung HDTV
Win10 pro x64
Silicon Power 240GB M55 M.2 2280 SSD
Saitek X52 Pro HOTAS, CH Pedals
CM HAF 922 pc case

Offline AKA_Goshawk

  • Executive Officer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1102
  • "Death from above"
    • View Profile
    • Goshawk's Nest
Re: Long pauses in multiplayer COD
« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2018, 12:38:45 pm »
Im telling you guys, Steam doesn't like my system. Rebooted my computer and Steam try's to automatically update itself before anything else loads on my system. This includes my anti-virus, and all my peripherals such as stick and rudder. Not cool!!!!!

Tells me that Steam doesnt like to play nice in the sandbox.

Grey,
this is normal and it does the same thing on my computer when I start it up. It does save time when you try to launch a game, then might have to wait for Steam to update before the game will launch, so it's totally up to you to decide when you want the updates to occur.
You'll find the same type of delays with BOS and DCS, but at least with Steam, it updates when you turn on the computer.

Gos


"Death from above"