Author Topic: Need: Entering Coord Jdams targets help  (Read 242 times)

Offline AKA_SilverDevil

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 253
  • AKA_SilverDevil
    • View Profile
Re: Need: Entering Coord Jdams targets help
« Reply #15 on: April 21, 2019, 02:58:51 pm »
With the testing I have done I am able to hit a structure not much bigger than a tank.  You need to have 3 things.

1.  You need to be able to see the target in the F10 map so you can be sure you are picking the right impact point.  Example, if you try and look at a Road Outpost structure it doesnt show on the map (you just see the target icon) and the icon isn't actually on the structure so you can't use it as an aim point.

2.  You need to have two digits after the seconds decimal in order to get the accuracy you need.

3.  You need to be around 20k'+ in alt.
 

here lies the true issue. the game does not produce the final two decimal digits except for lasing correct? i saw an intensive video of a guy in a gazelle taking lasing info from a minimum of 3 vantage points to produce the decimal degrees.
AKA_SilverDevil

DCS - Flaming Cliffs 3 - F-5E - F/A-18C - MiG-15 - F-86F - A-10C - P-51D - A-4E-C - AV8B - MIG-19P - F-14D

IL2 - BoS - BoM - BoK - BoB


Offline AKA_Topgun

  • Training Officer
  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 777
    • View Profile
Re: Need: Entering Coord Jdams targets help
« Reply #16 on: April 21, 2019, 06:31:24 pm »
Go to F10 map
Hit Left Alt Y to change default coordinate format to UTM coordinates
Get the UTM coordinates of the target
Plug it into this website

http://www.legallandconverter.com/p50.html?fbclid=IwAR1wLTUbyVxv0nsoxJBWMp3Wqyg9MyCnkmKmpdfHKfIH_WAT65bv5Br_6Dk

That will give you coordinates in Lat Long in Deg Min Sec where the seconds has the xx.xx format.

Offline AKA_SilverDevil

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 253
  • AKA_SilverDevil
    • View Profile
Re: Need: Entering Coord Jdams targets help
« Reply #17 on: April 22, 2019, 02:16:02 am »
well damn... all i was missing was ALT-Y. thanks!
AKA_SilverDevil

DCS - Flaming Cliffs 3 - F-5E - F/A-18C - MiG-15 - F-86F - A-10C - P-51D - A-4E-C - AV8B - MIG-19P - F-14D

IL2 - BoS - BoM - BoK - BoB


Offline AKA_Ramstein

  • "Sir! We're surrounded!" - "Excellent! We can shoot in any direction!"
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1617
    • View Profile
Re: Need: Entering Coord Jdams targets help
« Reply #18 on: April 29, 2019, 02:15:23 pm »
this on DCS forums>>  Quote:
Originally Posted by Cellvictor 
Quote
...Also one member talked about using a MGRS conversion via a website to get decimal places on the LAT/LONG. Surely it's easier to set this via map options in the first place?

In a future update the map will have DDMMSS.SS coords which u can enter straight into UFC without need for conversion
.


so, tired of messing with this until that is applied by DCS...

ASUS Z107 Pro Gaming
Intel i53570K 3.40 GHZ
G.Skill DDR4 ram 16 GB
Nvidia GTX1060 6GB Video Graphics
WD Black WD1002FAAEX 1TB
46" Samsung HDTV
Win10 pro x64
Silicon Power 240GB M55 M.2 2280 SSD
Saitek X52 Pro HOTAS, CH Pedals
CM HAF 922 pc case

Offline AKA_SilverDevil

  • AKA_Wardogs
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 253
  • AKA_SilverDevil
    • View Profile
Re: Need: Entering Coord Jdams targets help
« Reply #19 on: April 29, 2019, 03:31:20 pm »
i found an iteration of this Excel file. Essentially you use the formula =(CELL/1000)*60 on the UTM seconds or multiply by .06.

http://pcwiseman.com/downloads_files/JDAM TARGET CONVERTER.zip

should be a lot easier when they do data link and targeting pod.
AKA_SilverDevil

DCS - Flaming Cliffs 3 - F-5E - F/A-18C - MiG-15 - F-86F - A-10C - P-51D - A-4E-C - AV8B - MIG-19P - F-14D

IL2 - BoS - BoM - BoK - BoB